Waiting

I have found out that waiting means different things. Right now I am struggling with waiting.  I haven’t said a lot about my personal life, but at the moment it is very hard to be me.

I unfortunately have had to have two surgeries within 2 months of each other. The first surgery was fairly routine to help me be able to eat without having too much gerd. The acid in my stomach was burning my esophagus up and I kept getting the acid in my lungs also. I couldn’t lay down and if I did I would aspirated stomach acid in my lungs. I have had to sleep sitting up for over a year. Finally they decided to cut the part of my stomach out that makes the acid.  Currently my food is now digested by enzymes in my lower bowel as my stomach is the size of a lemon now.

During the surgery, the surgeon found several very large(over 9 cm) cysts where my ovaries were supposed to be.  They completed obliterated my ovaries. I had had a hysterectomy over 10 years ago, so I only had my ovaries and tubes left. As I talked with a Gyn surgeon, he stated he wouldn’t know much until he got in there. What he could see was that one of the cysts was laying next to my bladder and wasn’t sure if it had attached itself or not.  He also mentioned that I had quite of few lesions and some scar tissue that needed to be cleaned up.

Of course, my main concern was if they were malignant or not. The surgeon stated he wasn’t going to put me through a biopsy because it all had to come out anyway. Well I had my surgery last week and they said it takes 8-10 days for the pathology to come back with the results.  He did state after my surgery that he didn’t see anything blatant that appeared malignant, but it is always safe to wait for the results.

I am waiting on the results and it is definitely harder than I thought. While I’m waiting, I can’t ride or do much of anything because I am on a no lifting and rest only for the next 14 days. This is tough…. I can’t even go feed Hondo, all I can do is go see him for a few minutes each day.  As soon as I get the go ahead, my planning for the AZT will be in full force.

Hopefully all will be well in the next few days….

Until then,

Happy Riding…. TC

 

 

One thought on “Waiting

  1. Have courage. I have waited for biopsy results after surgery for colorectal cancer The biopsy result were fro lymph nodes they removed during the surgery. That was 17 years ago. I am still here and certainly still riding. Positive thoughts to you as you wait.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

