Shadow vs Shedding

Groundhog Day is a traditional holiday originating from the U.S. that is celebrated on February 2nd. According to folklore, if it is cloudy when a groundhog emerges from its burrow on this day, then the spring season will arrive early, sometime before the vernal equinox; if it is sunny, the groundhog will see its shadow and retreat back into his den, and winter weather will persist for 6 more weeks.

I personally think that Groundhog Day is quite amusing. The festivals, the celebrations and all the fanfare that goes into predicting spring is on its way.  I enjoy a great celebration.

One thing I can always count on to tell me when spring or even winter is coming is by my horses coat. One day I will go out and start grooming my horse and suddenly he is losing his winter coat.  Sometimes it takes him several weeks to shed or sometimes it takes only a couple of days. I believe when it takes him longer to shed out that spring is just around the corner. When he sheds out very quickly, spring is here.

The same goes for winter… I have gone out and started grooming my horse and he suddenly has a winter coat, that tells me winter is here.  If he slowly acquires a winter coat, winter is on its way. I think the animal kingdom is the best predictor of weather, not some calendar day that tells us to look for our shadow.

It always goes back to watching the animals, they tend to be able to predict events that us mere humans depend on machines to help us. Look at frogs, it is said they croak longer and louder when a storm is on its way.

Birds tend to fly higher when the weather is clear, but when they fly lower a storm is building. It is said that when the pressure builds, it hurts the birds sensitive senses. If your a watcher of our feathered friends, it might be better to go watch for them right before a storm!

I can give you tons of examples, even about how animals can predict earthquakes, but you get the idea… so shadow vs shedding to predict spring… what do you think?

Until later……

TC

IMG_2107

 

Leave a Reply

