My Night in the Desert

Yesterday I packed Hondo up to figure out how to distribute the equipment weight evenly. After I got him ready, I decided to go for a ride. It was around noon and my husband Joe was laying down due to a restless night. I left him a text message to let him know I went riding.

As I was riding along, I was thinking that I had all my equipment with me and I really wanted to test it out. I guess you can see where this is heading…. My next text to my husband was to let him know I was considering about spending the night in the desert!  Joe understood, but I knew he was a little upset and worried:(. I found a spot about 4.5 miles away from my house and decided to camp out. I also noticed that my phone had no reception because I was in a canyon. I walked a little way back and got to higher ground to let Joe know where I was and I was setting up camp.

If you notice in the picture, I was able to corral Hondo into a little cove.  What you can’t see behind him is that it is a dead end surrounded by high rocks. All I had to do was rope off the front. There was enough dried grass for him and I emptied half of my camelback into a collapsible bucket and Hondo was able to drink from that. I was going to save the rest of the water for in the morning for him.

I set up my tent and drank some juice I had brought and ate a peanut butter sandwich for my dinner.  I lit a fire and sat beside it for a while and just contemplated the things that are presently happening to me. One thing I haven’t mentioned is that when I had surgery this past December is that the surgeon found some tumors. I am going Monday to a pre-op appointment and to find out more about my next surgery.  I have been extremely depressed and doing a pity party on why me…. It has been very hard to be with family and pretend that everything is alright. I have been taking it out on Joe and I guess I just needed some time to reflect on my issues without anyone around. I know Joe was upset that I just decided to campout like I did.

Last night I didn’t put the rainfly on the top of my tent and I was able to watch the stars and the moon pass over me. I also forgot to turn my phone off and since I had no service the battery completely drained. I had my solar charger with me and tried to charge it with that. The charger even has a crank on it for when the solar part dies. Well I got some charge back to my phone and of course I still wasn’t thinking and didn’t turn off my phone.  I kept hearing Hondo moving around and in the desert this time of year, it is COLD!  I never got feeling back in my feet until morning. My sleeping bag kept me plenty warm, but my feet just couldn’t stay warm. I slept off and on and got up just before it started getting light. I had everything I needed to start a fire except my butane lighter wasn’t working. I had to use my emergency matches to get it started. After sitting by it for a few minutes, my feet finally started to warm up.

I started packing up and getting everything back on Hondo. He was being extremely patient because I think he was ready to get home also. For some reason it took me longer to get him repacked. During all of this, I was trying to get my phone to start charging again. I figured that the solar charger would get more power due to the sun was coming up by the time I left my camp.

During the ride home, I kept checking my phone. I knew the spots that I should have had signals, but my phone stayed dead. I kept it connected to the solar charger the whole ride home, but nothing….

I finally rode into our home and my husband Joe was worried sick. He was at the point of getting everything ready to go look for me. It made my heart glad that he was so worried. With everything going on with my health, it has been hard to be close to him. It is like we are just going through life right now barely talking or touching each other. I’m hoping that with me trying to get my brain settled, we can find that special something that has been missing in our relationship lately.

Well I guess I have blabbed enough…. I enjoyed my night in the desert and I wasn’t afraid like I thought I might be… Until next time 🌵⛺️🌵

horsetrailadventures@gmail.com

 

2 thoughts on “My Night in the Desert

  1. I’m proud of you. Your blog brought back the many times I lay in a tent and watched the stars. I read this quote this morning, and realized how true it was, and copied it in my journal. “Solitude brings with it gifts that come from nowhere else.” — Steve Goodier.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

