Happy New Year – 2017

It amazes me that as I get older, the years go by faster. When I was a child I couldn’t wait to grow up. When I hit 30, I definitely wanted to stop aging. Last night as the clock struck midnight and I gave my husband a kiss, all I could think of is another year went by so fast and I couldn’t think of anything I really accomplished that was meaningful.

I used 2016 to start getting healthy again, but anyone can do that. I think the feeling at midnight was a reaffirmation to actually hold fast to my goal to ride The Arizona Trail.

Of course after that, there was no way my brain was going to shut down. I started researching again on my iPad while laying in bed. I am a safety professional by trade and so I am always searching the safety side.  I read how dangerous it was to ride alone and dozens of pitfalls along the trail. I will admit that it does scare me. Thinking about being in the wilderness at night alone is terrifying to me.  Is my horse going to attract other animals? Will I be able to even get any sleep? Will my horse be alright hobbled? Will I be able to handle any emergency? My brain would just not shut down…

In the past 6 years, I have had to ride alone a lot due to there wasn’t anyone to ride with. I live right next to National Saguaro Park west and there are miles and miles of trails for me to ride on.  My husband stopped riding over 10 years ago and my sons never really got into riding like my daughters. My neighbor and I rode quite a bit together and then disaster hit her and her horse suddenly died at too young of an age of a twisted gut. R.I.P. Cisco.  Since his death, my friend lost that urge to ride.

I currently have one horse and he is awesome. Hondo is a line-back red dun gelding. He is a former border patrol horse that they retired at 16, he is currently 21.  You can see one of my concerns is his age. Like me, he has also had a bad 2016 with his health. I lost over 70 lbs and he lost over 200 lbs. I had every test done on him that I could and his blood work and everything else always came back normal. He stopped eating his pelleted food and the only thing I could get him to eat was alfalfa. I have always kept him on grass hay and supplemented with a complete horse feed in pellet form. Alfalfa in the summer heat of Tucson is not ideal for a backyard horse. I was able to get him to eat a mixture of grass and alfalfa, which he is still on today, but he was refusing all pellets and any sweet feed I tried to get him to eat.  My Vet recommend we treat him for possible ulcers.  She stated that sweet feed will sometimes make a horse hurt when eating.  I had to actually buy his medication from overseas. Finally after a 42-day treatment, it looked like Hondo was responding.

Today is New Year’s Day and it is raining.  I’m not going to let that stop me from working on Hondo’s and mine adventure. Today is a research day! And of course, football!

Leave a Reply

